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~ . SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS FOR NAME CHANGE

Every person 22 years of age or older whose name appears on the "Petition to Change Name"
must follow these instructions before the court can act on the petition.

Pursuantto Michigan law, every person 22 years of age or olderwho is requesting aname change must have
a complete set of fingerprints taken at a local police agency. Those fingerprints will be used by the Michigan
State Police and Federal Bureau of Investigationto check criminal records. The Michigan State Police willsend
areport to the court regarding any criminal records.

If you have a criminal record, it will be presumed that you are seeking the name change with fraudulent intent.
Youmustprovetothe courtthatthe name change is not being soughtwith fraudulentintent.

INSTRUCTIONS:

1. File the "Petition to Change Name" (form PC 51) with the circuit court and pay the filing fee.

2. Make one copy of the completed "Petition td Change Name" (form PC 51).

3. Gotoyourlocal police agency forthe fingerprint card and to have yourfingerprints taken. The police agency
will advise you of the appropriate fee. Take a copy of the "Petition to Change Name" with you.

m4. After you have had your fingerprints taken, mail the copy of the “Petition to Change Name," the fingerprint
‘ card,andthe $49.25 feetothe Michigan State Police. The fee mustbe made payable to the State
of Michigan. Mail to:

Michigan State Police
Criminal Records Division
106 W. Allegan

Lansing, Michigan 48933

5. The Michigan State Police will review your criminal records and will forward the fingerprints to the Federal
Bureau of Investigation. Once the Federal Bureau of Investigation has reviewed its records and reported
the information to the Michigan State Police, the Michigan State Police will send a report to the court.

6. After the court receives the required report from the Michigan State Police, the court can schedule a
hearing on the "Petition to Change Name." ~

[J The court will mail you a notice when the required report is received. You must give the courta pre-
addressed, postage-paid envelope for mailing this notice.

O Contact the court eight weeks after you mail or deliver your fingerprint card to the Michigan State Police
tofind out if the required report has been received. .
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http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Forms/courtforms/namechange/pc51.pdf
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Forms/courtforms/namechange/pc51.pdf

