STATE OF MICHIGAN
RESOLUTION‘
At a regular meeting of the Board of Commissioners of the County of Chippewa,
Michigan, held at the County Building in Sault Ste.Marie, Michigan on the 13th day of

May, 2013, at 2:00 o'clock p.m. local time.

PRESENT: Commissioners: Scott Shackleton, George Kinsella, Don Cooper, Ted
Postula and Don McLean

ABSENT: Commissioners: None
It was moved by Commissioner McLean and supported by

Commissioner Kinsellathat the following resolution be adopted.

Whereas, the Chippewa County ("County") Board of Commissioners ("Board") held the
authority under 2007 PA 164, which amended Michigan's Emergency 9-1-1 Service
Enabling Act, being MCL 484.1101 ef seq, as amended ("9-1-1 Act") to set a default county
9-1-1 surcharge cap ("default surcharge cap") on all communications devices of residents
within the County under Section 401 e(l) and (2) of the 9-1-1 Act, being MCL
§484.1401¢e(l) and (2) provided the Board acted before February 15, 2008 and the
Michigan Public Service Commission ("MPSC") approved the rate set:

Whereas the Board and MPSC approved default surcharge cap set for July 1, 2008 may
thereafter only be exceeded upon an authorization of the voters in the County pursuant to
Section 401b(1), being MCL §484.1401b(1);

Whereas the Board approved a default surcharge cap for Chippewa County prior to
February 15, 2008 at the rate of $1.50 per month but the MPSC did not approve the rate
and instead reduced that rate effective July 1,2008 to $.99;

Whereas, the County timely appealed the MPSC's rejection and reduction of the
.County's default surcharge cap in the Michigan court system, resulting in a remand of the
issue to the MPSC in February of 2013 by the Michigan Court of Appeals;

Whereas, the staff of the MPSC has indicated that the MPSC on remand will approve the
default surcharge rate set by the Board of $1.50 if the County waives any entitlement to



retroactive surcharge payments that could have been assessed by the County between
July 1,2008 and July 1,2013 (collectively referred to as the "Retroactive Surcharge";

Whereas, the residents of the County would have to pay the Retroactive Surcharge not
the MPSC or State of Michigan and the County can avoid legal expenses and further
delay in the implementation of its default surcharge rate if it accepts the MPSC staffs
offer:

Whereas, the Board believes it is in the best interests of the County to expedite a
resolution of the rate dispute with the MPSC thereby avoiding further delay and expense
in the implementation of the Board set default surcharge rate of 1.50 and to avoid the
burden on its citizens by the Retroactive Surcharge provided the dispute can be
efficiently and expeditiously resolved, effective July 1,2013;

Now, Therefore, Be It Resolved, that the Board accepts the MPSC staffs proposal and
will waive and release its Retroactive Surcharge rights for denied surcharge between July
1,2008 and July 1, 2013 provided that the MPSC approves the default surcharge rate set
by the Board for July 1, 2008 by May 15, 2013, so that this $1.50 rate becomes the
County's default surcharge rate under the 9-1-1 Act, effective July 1,2013;

Be it Further Resolved, that the Board sets the surcharge rate for Chippewa County
effective July 1,2013 at $1.50 or the highest rate allowable under the law.

Be It Further Resolved, that the County Clerk, Board Chairperson, 9-1-1 Director, legal
counsel and/or any other county officials or representative are authorized to execute any
settlement agreement or other documentation to memorialize the terms and conditions of
the settlement between the County and the MPSC and to implement the default 9-1-1
surcharge rate effective July 1,2013.

YEAS: Commissioners: Shackleton, Kinsella, Cooper, Postula, McLean
NAYS: Commissioners: None

ABSTENTIONS: Commissioners: None
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cott Shackleton, Chairperson Cathy Maleport, Chippewa County

Chippewa County Board of Commissioners Clerk
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